18 August 2010

System History and the undo command

The history of system configuration changes is held until the next router shutdown. The invoked commands can be 'undone' using the /undo command. By invoking the command several times, the configuration changes can be 'undone' in reverse order they have been invoked. Use the /system history print command to see the list of performed actions:




[MikroTik] system history> print
Flags: U - undoable, R - redoable, F - floating-undo 
  ACTION                                   BY            POLICY          
U nat rule changed                         admin         write           
U nat rule changed                         admin         write  
[MikroTik] system history>


The list is printed with the newest actions at the top. Thus, in this example, the /undo command would 'undo' the changed nat rule from the top:




[MikroTik] system history> /undo
[MikroTik] system history> print


 Flags: U - undoable, R - redoable, F - floating-undo 
  ACTION                                   BY            POLICY               
U nat rule changed                         admin         write  
[MikroTik] system history>


Tip: If you accidentally removed some item, or set wrong argument value, just execute the /undo command to undo previously done action. The /redo would do the opposite - redo the previous undo action.

No comments:

Post a Comment